On July 4th, 1967, Prime Minister Levi Eshkol appointed a Special Inter-Ministry Committee for Diplomatic Contacts in the Occupation Areas. The committee was tasked with making findings and drafting recommendations for Israel’s policy in the Occupied Territories. Dr. Yaacov Herzog, Director General of the PMO was put in charge of the committee’s work, and membership included Maj. Gen. Chaim Herzog, Dave Kimchi (Mossad), Moshe Sasson and Shaul Bar Haim (Ministry of Foreign Affairs). On July 20th, the committee submitted its findings and recommendations: a two-page summary and a number of short annexes which detailed reviews and proposals for Israeli rule in the West Bank.

Read more


Re: the West Bank, Kingdom of Jordan, Gaza Strip: a suggestion for a solution and policy